Tuesday, Feb. 04, 2003

are you being served?

This is the part where I go absolutely frickin looney-tunes.

I cannot get a straight answer from anyone about anything at all. Period. I LOVE working with the government. Not for them, at least - I can be thankful for small favors. Really, it's just work, but it's still eight hours of my day and thus, a fairly large concern at the moment.

I tried to call the help desk and couldn't get through. Maybe I should be glad. I mean, the call would probably go something like this:

"Hello! Welcome to the Nifty Friendly Government Help Desk, open from 8 am to 8 pm, or whenever we can convince Ethel to turn off the Soap Opera Network. Your call is very important to us, so please stay on the line and we'll be with you as soon as we finish discussing last night's episode of American Idol."

*insert inane new-agey type elevator music here*

"Thank you for holding. Your call is very important to us. Honest. We mean it. In terms of importance, it ranks right up there with alphabetizing our soup cans. Please stay on the line."

*more inane music*

"We are sorry for the delay. However, we are conducting a scientific study on the effects of inane new-agey type elevator music on mental health and sanity. You can help us by pressing the button that corresponds with your state of mind. Are you mellow and calm? Press 1. Are you ready to pound the phone against the wall? Press 2. Have you already shoved the phone into your ear canal and are now crouching under your desk looking for an escape route? Press 3."

*3*

"Thank you. Please continue to hold."

*seasons change*

"Help Desk, this is Ethel."

"Ethel! Thank God! Listen, I can't get your program to work and I have lines of students trying to register and I think they might be terrorists and one of them has an uzi and now there's a picture of Evil Spock on the screen laughing at me and-"

"We're aware of the issue and are dilligently working to fix the problem. Thank you for calling the Help Desk. Goodbye."

*click*

*whimper*

Yeah. I'm leaving the phone alone now.

I'm PMSing, which has led to me munching like a starved lemur all day. PMS-induced calories don't count, right? Please? Damn.

On a happier note, I got in touch with my photographer last week. He was putting my pictures in the mail on Thursday morning, or so he said. Some of them are on CD-ROM, too, which means soon I'll have wedding pics to put up!! Yaaaaay!!!!

Oh well. I'm off to haunt the Television Without Pity site and try to look productive.

~Emma~

This entry was brought to you by the letter Q and the number 64,813,551

--->Comment allez-vous?<---

earlier later

break this - Tuesday, Mar. 01, 2005

long time no post - Monday, Feb. 28, 2005

give me a little credit - Thursday, Nov. 18, 2004

blink-free - Thursday, Oct. 28, 2004

end of days - Thursday, Oct. 14, 2004

Clix me! (Pretty please?)