Monday, Mar. 17, 2003

cry havoc

It is muggy, icky, and rainy, and I am bored and grumpy. Only two more dwarfs to go. I'm eating easter candy corn. Every so often, I get one that has a hint of hydrogen peroxide flavor. Is that bad?

It looks like we're going to war. Honestly, I thought when it came my feelings would be somewhere along the lines of "finally, at least you're doing something. Not so. I've been close to tears all morning. The fact that I work at a fairly liberal institution, with war protesters on the street corners, isn't helping.

I don't know how I feel about the war. I don't want us to go to war; I really don't want us to start one. But I don't want to leave a wide open door for Saddam, either. I feel guilty about not knowing when the whole world seems to have taken sides. I can't be the only one who isn't sure, but it seems like it.

I was in sixth grade during the Gulf War. I still have my journal from English class, in which I wondered if we were heading for WWIII and nicknamed Saddam "So-dumb Insane." I feel like that sixth-grader again, but with a greater appreciation for what could happen this time.

I remember yellow ribbons and I worry about our troops over there now. It seems like there is a horrible lack of support for them. Although, there was a rally for America in Atlanta this weekend that drew 20,000 people. Maybe it isn't as bad as the media makes it out to be.

I worry too about the Iraqi civilians, and those of other countries that are going to be pulled into this. The pain of a loss like that of September 11th is something no one should have to feel. Enemy nation or not.

I just hope we're doing the right thing. If there is a right thing.

~Emma~

Reading: Just Another Kid by Torey Hayden

Hearing: 10,000 Maniacs "These Are Days"

Wishing: For peace.

--->Comment allez-vous?<---

earlier later

break this - Tuesday, Mar. 01, 2005

long time no post - Monday, Feb. 28, 2005

give me a little credit - Thursday, Nov. 18, 2004

blink-free - Thursday, Oct. 28, 2004

end of days - Thursday, Oct. 14, 2004

Clix me! (Pretty please?)