Monday, May. 12, 2003

god pokes his head in

I started my day by getting my fluffy makeup brush, swooshing it around in some blush, and promptly applying it to my nose. Apparently, my brain thought it was time for powder.

Somehow, I managed to not look like Rudolph the whole day. And the Freshens' lady gave me lots of extra frozen yogurt in my cup. So it's a good day after all.


I'm trying to find a church to go to in Atlanta, and I have no idea where to start. I've never looked for a church on my own before. As a kid I went where my parents went. In college, I went to Joy's church (Lakewood) with her once, promptly fell in love with it, and the matter was settled.

I've been putting it off because I know there is no way on God's green earth I can find a church I'll love as much as Lakewood. My views on Christianity are a little different then most churches, especially in the South, seem to embody.

I hate the word religion. I think churches spend so much time quibbling over stuff man made up they forget the reason they exist. I think there is a definite right and wrong, and since nobody gets it right all the time, we should all be on equal footing. I think a pastor is there to teach and shouldn't place himself above his congregation. He isn't better, just called to a different purpose and given different gifts.

I think a church should be a place where a 16-year-old kid with slouchy pants and facial piercings can walk in and get a hug from an 80-year-old lady. And when she says "Welcome," she'll mean it.

Most of all, I need to be able to feel the spirit of God in a church. If there is no joy in a church, no empathy and support and love, then it isn't a church. At least, not to me.

I'm not saying that a church should say "Hey, anything goes, come on in!" But I think they need to say "Come as you are. We all sin, we're all working on it, and we want to work together."

Yeah, I'm not picky or anything. ;-)

The other tricky thing is that my husband was raised Episcopalian. He's very uncomfortable in a setting that is more open and emotional, and contemporary services are hard for him. He doesn't have a personal relationship with God, and I think that plays a large part in it. Whereas, I need to be able to sing and lift my hands, and cry if necessary. That would freak him out.

So the question is, how do I compromise? How can we find a place that meets both of our needs? He's "take it or leave it" on the idea of going to church, so I could always just go by myself. But that defeats the purpose. I want him to come closer to God, and while he'll have to leave his comfort zone at some point, there's only so much I can ask of him at the beginning.

So maybe I should just trust God.

Ack. So much easier said than done. But I'll try.


Thanks for reading through the God-stuff. I had to get that out, and couldn't think of a better place. Besides, I think he's pretty cool, so he should be in my diary too. I talk enough about stuff that bugs me. I need to talk about the good things, too.

Have a happy Monday.

~Emma~

Reading: "So Long, and Thanks For All the Fish"

Hearing: My space heater. I love my space heater. It keeps my little toesies warm.

Wishing: That I would, just once, get up for work on time.

--->Comment allez-vous?<---

earlier later

break this - Tuesday, Mar. 01, 2005

long time no post - Monday, Feb. 28, 2005

give me a little credit - Thursday, Nov. 18, 2004

blink-free - Thursday, Oct. 28, 2004

end of days - Thursday, Oct. 14, 2004

Clix me! (Pretty please?)