Friday, Dec. 12, 2003

racing where?

This is a rant in Emma's diary. If this were a regular entry, it would include information about her cat and her Christmas tree. This is only a rant.


This is an issue I've been meaning to write about for awhile. This entry from TranceJen brought it to mind yet again.

Several weeks ago, a professor at my university used the phrase "six n****** in a wood pile" while talking with someone after a department meeting. She was referring to herself (she is white). A complaint was filed with our diversity office, and sanctions were brought against the professor.

It would seem to make sense for it to stop there. Issue addressed, professor reprimanded, the end. Instead, it became kindling to start the campus-wide cries of "Racism! Racism!" all over again.

The president issued a press release on the "racial language statement." There have been multiple town hall meetings. A group of black professors is demanding mandatory diversity training, wanting a class on diversity to be added to the general ed requirements for undergrads, and is calling for the hiring of a Vice Provost for Minority Affairs to, I quote, "implement a longer-term strategic diversity plan that incorporates, among other things, hiring senior Black faculty."

Good grief.

I recognize the fact that racism is a true issue, and needs to be addressed. However, that means ALL racism - including racism directed towards white people. Some try to argue that since whites are not a historically repressed minority, then there can't be racism against them. I call bullshit.

Let me just make a few points.

  • Some statistics to put this in perspective:
    • 75.1% of the US population is white. 12.3% are black; 3.6% are Asian; 12.5% are Hispanic/Latino. (Source: U.S. Census Bureau.
    • 10.7% of full-time instructional faculty in degree-granting institutions are minorities. 4.8% are black, 2.5% are Hispanic, and 5.4% are Asian. This seems a little off, until...
    • You look at the number of doctorates granted by race. 4.4% recipients were black; 2.7% were Hispanic; 5% were Asian. The stats are similar for masters degrees(Source for 2 & 3: Department of Education National Center for Education Statistics.)
    When you consider the fact that a doctorate (or at least a masters)is necessary to be on faculty at a university, things suddenly don't look so lopsided.
That was my subjective point.
  • My family was not here during the Civil War. No one I know has ever owned a slave. Do not try to tell me that because I'm white, I owe you.
  • People of other races can be every bit as racist as white people. Individuals are racist; races aren't racist. So again, don't assume that because I'm white, I'm racist.
  • Twenty years ago, affirmative action had a place. Now, it is outdated. We have gotten to the point where, even if people are internally racist, it is harder and harder for institutions discriminate based on race - they'll get sued so fast their heads will spin. And those determined to discriminate will do so anyway, and find other reasons to justify their decisions. Time to ditch the quotas. Besides, does it really make you feel good to know that you got a position based on the color of your skin, rather than your merit? That's pretty sad.
  • I will not capitalize black in reference to African-Americans and the like. If I were to capitalize white in the same context, I would be called a white supremacist and have the crap verbally kicked out of me. It goes both ways, y'all.
  • Separate but equal is a great concept. Clinging to your race when it's convenient and expecting everyone else to ignore it except when you want them to is not. You can't have it both ways. Take your pick.
  • Finally, I am female. My grandfather was born in Lebanon. I have depression. There are a lot of ways in which I, too, am a minority. Those things are part of who I am, but they're not everything. If you rely on your race for your entire identity, you're missing a lot.

I know we have a long way to go to get to true equality. That's not what I'm talking about here. These frustrations do not by any stretch incorporate everyone of a different race. How could they? That would be ridiculous. They are targeted at individuals who demand preferential treatment based solely on race, and turn isolated incidents into opportunities to push their agendas.

Trust me, if you don't know who you are, the rest of us do.


Two final things. First, I know this may piss some people off. That's fine. Have fun - thinking about this stuff is better than ignoring it. Second, and this is very important. I have been careful not to mention the name of the university for which I work. Some people may already know, or may figure it out. These comments are my personal opinion. They do not represent the views of the university, nor do I make them in the capacity of a university employee.
Whew. 'Nuff of that. Happy weekend.

~Emma

--->Comment allez-vous?<---

earlier later

break this - Tuesday, Mar. 01, 2005

long time no post - Monday, Feb. 28, 2005

give me a little credit - Thursday, Nov. 18, 2004

blink-free - Thursday, Oct. 28, 2004

end of days - Thursday, Oct. 14, 2004

Clix me! (Pretty please?)