Thursday, Feb. 05, 2004

stupidity abounds (aka: i hate you)

I have been a cranky-assed bitch this week. Everybody and everything is pissing me off. I have no idea why - I'm not PMSing. I bought myself a Happy Bunny t-shirt that says "Make the stupid people shut up." I will wear it proudly.

There are stupid people everywhere. Ev-er-y-where. I have had no less than three different people call me over and over this week, often at the rate of about four times in five minutes, because they don't understand their form. I can usually answer their question in about ten seconds, and it's not a technical question. It's something they would have known had they looked at the beautiful Power Point instruction guide I put together just for them. Instead, they call me, and act like the fact that they have to even do this in the first place is my fault.

Normally, this kind of stuff just makes me laugh. It's fairly amusing. But lately, with me in cranky-assed bitch mode...it's not good. Really not good.

Cases in Point - Reasons #23980 and #25098 that I hate people:

1) I received an email with the subject line "Please remove me from your listserv." Body of email read "Thanks." No name, etc. Upon finding that this email address was not, in fact, subscribed to my list, I emailed the sender for assistance.

Apparently, with the assistance of my magical mind-reading gnomes, I was supposed to know that he had subscribed under a completely different address. Right-o.

*beats head against wall*

2) A woman called for help with the new form submission program. That's alright, that's why I'm here. Upon finishing, the following exchange took place.

SW: Stupid Woman

Me: Fred Flintstone

SW: Okay, fine, but I don't know what signatures I need.

Me: The instruction form you printed out from our website will tell you what signatures you need.

SW: Oh, well, I didn't look at that, I just went in and did it. So what signatures do I need?

Me: *amazingly enough does not come through the phone to strangle her, instead politely directs her to the instruction form. Again.*

SW: Okay...you know, this new form isn't any better than the old one. It's really not making my life any easier.

Me: *thinks* And you are definitely not making my life any easier. Please go away and enroll in Remedial Following Directions for Dummies.

And we can't leave out our friends, the Special Drivers. Ah, the Special Drivers. These are the people that are too important to follow traffic laws, signal or even look before changing lanes, wait their turn at a stop sign, etc. This morning, while waiting to turn off the ramp into a lane of traffic, I came across a Special Driver. Instead of waiting behind me in the line, he was edging up NEXT to me so he was just about even with my car. I have no idea where the hell he thought he was going to GO, as it was a one-lane exit. A wide one-lane, but a one-lane. Anyway, he was obviously far too special to wait behind me - he may risk losing that 8/10 of a second that it would take to pull up into my place after I went. No, he must get his ass up front NOW! I was honored to be on the road with such an important person.

The idea of coming to work tomorrow makes me want to hide in the clothes dryer. I need a day at home playing The Sims and watching stupid TV and hating the world all by myself. We'll see. One more person standing out in the main office whining "Ehhhhhhmaaaaaaa!!!!" instead of walking the three steps into my office to speak like civilized beings, and I may retaliate. Peanut butter on an office chair is icky.

I love my t-shirt.

~Emma

--->Comment allez-vous?<---

earlier later

break this - Tuesday, Mar. 01, 2005

long time no post - Monday, Feb. 28, 2005

give me a little credit - Thursday, Nov. 18, 2004

blink-free - Thursday, Oct. 28, 2004

end of days - Thursday, Oct. 14, 2004

Clix me! (Pretty please?)