Thursday, May. 13, 2004

odd interlude

I just got a call from my old roomate's little sister, K. Surprised me a bit - I don't think she's ever called me directly before. I've known her as long as I've known J, though, and she's my baby sister too.

She's also 20, unmarried, and pregnant. It's not a good situation at all, as her family is very strict Southern Baptist. As in, when she got married, J's father looked her and said "I will not dance with you at your wedding, so don't even ask." She's living at home right now and I can only imagine how tense things must be.

I think she just wanted to talk - I'm not sure, b/c I'm at work and couldn't stay on much longer than it took to get her number. I told her I'd call her back tonight. I don't know if she knows that I know she's pregnant. I hope she'll feel like she can talk to me. From the sounds of things, she's getting nothing but judgement and fussing from everyone else. When J told me, I wanted to go find K and hug her. Yes, it wasn't the brightest thing she's ever done, but yelling at her isn't going to make the baby go away.

You know what J seemed most upset about when she told me this? She's jealous. She thinks she might not be able to have kids (no doctor has ever confirmed this) and thinks it's not fair that her little sister, who isn't even married, is going to have one first. This is vintage J. When I got engaged her comment was "Don't get me wrong, I'm really happy for you, but this is hard for me - I was supposed to get married first!" I love J, but she is a little self-centered.

Yeah. And the sun is a little bit bright.

~Emma

--->Comment allez-vous?<---

earlier later

break this - Tuesday, Mar. 01, 2005

long time no post - Monday, Feb. 28, 2005

give me a little credit - Thursday, Nov. 18, 2004

blink-free - Thursday, Oct. 28, 2004

end of days - Thursday, Oct. 14, 2004

Clix me! (Pretty please?)